Friday, January 20, 2017

Ask Linda #1464-Ball hits obstruction and lands out of bounds

While playing a round, a member’s ball hit an immovable obstruction and went Out of Bounds. 
Please advise, can he claim relief and hit again, or is the ball to be treated as Out of Bounds? 
Will appreciate advice. Thanks.
Lou from Lahore, Pakistan

Dear Lou,

It is not how the ball got there, but where the ball lies when it comes to rest that determines its location. A ball that hits an immovable obstruction and settles out of bounds is out of bounds.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.