Monday, January 16, 2017

Ask Linda #1460-Practice putting on 9-hole course during 18-hole competition

Am I correct in thinking that, if we are playing on a 9-hole golf course in an 18-hole medal competition that on the first nine you cannot practice putting on the green of the hole you just finished?
Lou from Larbert, Scotland

Dear Lou,


Rule 7-2 permits the player to practice putting on the putting green of the hole last played, provided you do not unduly delay play. The fact that you will play this hole again as part of the back nine does not change this ruling [Decision 7-2/9].

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.