Monday, January 2, 2017

Ask Linda #1450-Use club for alignment

Can I lay the club I am going to use on the ground for alignment and pick it up after I take my stance?
Lulu from Hollywood, Florida

Dear Lulu,

Yes. Provided you are not on the putting green, you may place any club on the ground to align your feet, but you must pick up the club before you hit your shot [Decision 8-2a/1]. If you neglect to pick up the club, you will incur a two-stroke/loss-of-hole penalty for a breach of Rule 8-2a.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.