Friday, August 26, 2016

Ask Linda #1370-Hit balls back onto range during play

Hi Linda,
Everyone seems to have a different answer to the following, so I thought I would go to "the source."
We seem to always have a few range balls on a fairway that abuts the driving range at our club.
During a tournament, is a player permitted to hit range balls that are on a fairway without a penalty?  She would be hitting the balls back onto the range.
I look forward to your daily emails.
Thank you,
Lulu from East Setauket, New York

Dear Lulu,

If the player casually flicks a ball or two back onto the range in order to tidy up the course, there is no penalty. If she takes a full swing she will incur a two-stroke/loss-of-hole penalty for a breach of Rule 7-2, which prohibits taking a practice stroke during play of a hole [Decision 7-2/5].

It would be best to pick them up and toss them back. That would avoid any arguments about violations and penalties.

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.