Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Ask Linda #1368-Must use Dropping Zone?

If your ball ends up in a ground under repair area and there is a designated free drop area, must you use that free drop area or can you use the one club length from the white line of the ground under repair area? This happened today and the free drop area was about 15 yards behind where I could have used the one club length rule. Thank you for explaining this to me.
Lulu from Tupper Lake, New York

Dear Lulu,

It depends on the status of the Dropping Zone (DZ). If the Committee declares it mandatory, you have no choice. If it is provided as an additional relief option, you may choose to use it or proceed under Rule 25-1b.

It is recommended that DZ’s be provided as an additional relief option, as opposed to a requirement.

I would like to correct what may be a misunderstanding regarding where to take relief from ground under repair. You mention “one club-length from the white line.” That is incorrect. Relief is within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole [Rule 25-1b]. Find the nearest point of relief by taking your stance with the club you plan to use to hit your shot, and drop within one club-length (use any club to measure) of that spot.

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.