Friday, August 5, 2016

Ask Linda #1355-Player does not pick up in Stableford

Hi Linda.
We were playing in a Stableford comp. 1st hole. Fellow in group with a handicap of 18. He has hit 9 shots on a par 4 and is only halfway to the green. When I asked him to pick up his ball, he was extremely angry and continued to play and putted out with a 12. Is this considered practising? Is there a penalty? I had not met him before and subsequently avoided playing in the same group. Is there anything that I could have done at the time?
Lulu from Australia

Dear Lulu,

Strokes made in continuing play of a hole, even though the result of the hole is decided, are not considered practice strokes [Rule 7-2]. There is no penalty. There is not much you can do about this problem. However, if your group is falling behind the group in front, you might try saying something like: "We are falling behind. Since you have no chance for Stableford points on this hole, would you consider picking up to help us catch up?"

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.