Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Ask Linda #1353-Tee shot hits tree and lands behind teeing ground
My friend the other day was teeing off and he hit a tree and the ball bounced back behind all the tee-off areas. He thinks he is allowed to re-tee and I said you have to hit it where it lies. Could you settle this for us?
Lou from Dundas, Ontario
The player has two choices:
(1) Play the ball as it lies. This will be his second shot on the hole.
(2) Declare the ball unplayable and re-tee, counting the first stroke as well as a penalty stroke. This is known as playing under “stroke and distance” [Rule 27-1a]. His second shot from the tee will be his third stroke on the hole.
Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.