Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Ask Linda #1723-Re-tee when stroke and distance brings you back to the teeing ground

If you take an unplayable and bring the ball back to where you hit it from, which happens to be the  tee box, can you re-tee the ball?
As always, I thank you for your answer.  
Lou from Green Valley, Arizona

Dear Lou,


Whenever you choose (or are required) to play from where you played your previous stroke, and that location is the teeing ground, you may re-tee your ball anywhere within the teeing ground [Rule 20-5a].

If the previous spot were through the green or in a hazard, you would have to drop the ball. And if it were on the putting green, you would place it.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.