Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Ask Linda #1714-Ball strikes bird

Thanks for all your help in the past and I'm asking again:
What is the rule when a drive or fairway shot strikes a bird in flight?
Is the rule different if a putt strikes a bird on the green?
Thank you.
Lou from Ontario

Dear Lou,

A bird is an outside agency. If a player’s stroke from on the green strikes a bird, the stroke is canceled. The ball must be replaced and replayed. Elsewhere, it is a rub of the green, and the player must play the ball as it lies. Please read Rule 19-1.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.