Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Ask Linda #1719-Replaced ball rolls into hole

We had a situation on the green. The player hit a ball to less than a foot on his 2nd shot on a par 4 and marked his ball. When he replaced the ball, the ball started moving and went in the hole. The ball was completely at rest before it started to roll. What is his score or what is the correct ruling?
Lou from California

Dear Lou,

The player had an eagle. Provided he did nothing to cause his ball to move, and the ball was at rest before it started its roll into the hole, the player is ruled to have holed out with his previous stroke [Decision 20-3d/1].

If the ball had not come to rest before it started rolling, the player would be required to replace the ball – no penalty.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.