Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Ask Linda #1562-Reference point for relief from water hazard

I have a question about red stakes around a pond. The fairway is a dogleg left and at the turn in the fairway there is a pond. When you hit a ball into the pond, do you hit your next shot from where you entered the hazard, or if the ball lands near the far side of the pond take your shot from the spot nearest where the ball landed and just not closer to the hole? We always play our next shot where we entered the hazard, not where the ball has landed. Is this correct? Some have done it the other way, which I consider wrong.
Lulu from Nova Scotia, Canada

Dear Lulu,

You are correct.

When you take relief from a lateral water hazard, the reference point for flagline relief or two-club-length relief is always the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard. Where the ball actually lands in the hazard is irrelevant. Please read Rule 26-1b and c.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.