Thursday, June 15, 2017

Ask Linda #1553-Complete relief requirement

Hopefully you can find the rule for me about taking complete relief from GUR or cart path. A player at our course was on the cart path and dropped her ball on the dirt area near her ball, but her feet were still partially on the cart path. We told her she needed to take complete relief, but couldn’t find the rule. Please help.
Lulu from Sequim, Washington

Dear Lulu,

Rule 24-2b tells you to drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief (NPR). The Definition of NPR tells you that the NPR is the point where there is no interference by the condition from which relief is sought. (The Definitions are in the front of the rulebook.) “No interference” includes lie, stance, and swing. Rule 20-2c (v) tells you that you must re-drop if the ball rolls to a spot where you still have interference from the condition from which you were seeking relief. If you take relief from a cart path, and you subsequently hit the ball with your feet touching the cart path, the penalty is two strokes (loss of hole in match play) for a breach of Rule 20-2.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.