Please revisit Ask Linda #1552 (http://lindamillergolf.blogspot.com/2017/06/ask-linda-1552-ball-in-wrong-hole-on.html). I edited the answer, thanks to an observant reader from the UK.
In the "Ask Linda" columns I answer questions from readers who are uncertain how to proceed correctly under the Rules of Golf. No names are used – all questioners are referred to as Lulu (or Lou, in the case of male writers), in honor of the smart and sassy comic character. Please send questions from your personal golf experiences to: firstname.lastname@example.org.