Thursday, June 22, 2017

Ask Linda #1558-Hit opponent’s equipment

Hi Linda 
Just a quick question to clarify a rule.
Is there a penalty if you hit an opponent’s bag with your ball?
Many thanks.
Lou from Wales, UK

Dear Lou,

No penalty.

In stroke play, this is known as a “rub of the green.” You must play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-4].

In match play, you may either cancel the stroke and replay the shot, or play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-3].

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.