Thursday, October 13, 2016

Ask Linda #1400-Player’s stroke canceled in foursomes (alternate shot)

Hi Linda, 
I recently played on a course that has a wire around the greens to prevent cattle from walking onto the greens. The Local Rule is that if a player hits this wire then they must take the shot again with no penalty. The question is, in foursome match play, does Player A take the shot or does his partner, Player B, who hit the shot that struck the wire, take the shot again.
Much obliged,
Lou from Wales, UK

Dear Lou,

In foursomes (alternate shot), if a stroke is canceled and must be replayed, the player who hit the canceled stroke will repeat the shot. Since Player B’s ball hit the wire, Player B will repeat his shot.

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.