Monday, November 30, 2015

Ask Linda #1201-Stroke from GUR does not extricate ball

Hi Linda – another one

Played in a match Sunday……………………

My opponent hits shot onto GUR full of dead leaves and detrital sediment. Decides to play from GUR and hits a shocker! Ball only moves ten inches further into the mess. Then questions if he can now move the ball from GUR under no penalty and play as he would have if he had taken original relief – e.g., will accept the shot he hit ten inches as a stroke but then get free relief.

Lou from Cardiff, Wales, UK

Dear Lou,

The location of the ball will determine whether the player is entitled to free relief. Since the ball is apparently still lying in Ground Under Repair, the player gets a free drop. Count the first stroke from the GUR (which, in retrospect, was probably a very poor decision), lift the ball (which may be cleaned), and drop it within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole [Rule 25-1a, b].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.