Monday, November 9, 2015

Ask Linda #1187-Touch ball by accident

Hi Linda,

I have a question I hope you can help me with. My ball had come to rest on the putting green. Before addressing the ball properly my putter accidentally touched the ball. The ball didn't move off its spot. Have I committed a penalty shot/a stroke ?

Thank you for your help
Lou from Wendover, Bucks, England

Dear Lou,

There is no penalty for accidentally touching your ball when you address it, provided the ball does not move [Rule 18-2a].

If the ball moves, you must replace it and add a one-stroke penalty to your score. A ball moved at address or by a practice swing never counts as an actual stroke, since there was no intention to hit the ball.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.