Thursday, July 16, 2015

Ask Linda #1106-Hit own equipment

Yesterday in a tournament a player hit her ball which hit a tree and deflected BACK hitting her cart. Should there be a penalty since she did not directly hit her cart? Our club pro advised she was to take a TWO-stroke penalty.  My research indicates a one-stroke penalty when hitting your own equipment. Your clarification will be appreciated.  
Lulu from Newnan, Georgia

Dear Lulu,

There is a one-stroke penalty when a player hits a ball that subsequently hits her own equipment [Rule 19-2]. The fact that it deflected off a tree does not change that ruling. The ball must be played as it lies.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.