Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Ask Linda #1094-Ball lifted from green ends up in water hazard

Linda, a couple of years ago I was a walking scorekeeper on the web.com tour. A player had marked his ball on the green and then threw the ball to his caddie to be cleaned. The caddie did not like the distance the ball was thrown to him, but cleaned the ball and then threw it back to the player. The player missed the thrown ball and it almost went into a water hazard. Had this ball been lost would the player have been penalized for not completing the hole with the original ball?
Lou from Tennessee

Dear Lou,

Yes. No substitution is permitted when a ball is marked and lifted on the green. The penalty is two strokes in stroke play, loss of hole in match play [Decision 15-2/1].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.