Friday, June 5, 2015

Ask Linda #1077-Relief from lamp post

Dear Linda,

Some courses in Malaysia have lamp posts used for light in night golf. Is it an immovable obstruction? What happens when we hit the lamp post? Can we replay the shot?
Lou from Malaysia

Dear Lou,

A lamp post is an immovable obstruction. When your ball hits an immovable obstruction, you must play it as it lies. It may ricochet and go out of bounds, roll into an unplayable lie, or settle on the fairway. Regardless of the result, you may not replay the shot.

If the ball settles so close to the lamp post that it interferes with your stance or area of intended swing, you are entitled to free relief under Rule 24-2b.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. A ll rights reserved.