Monday, June 15, 2015

Ask Linda #1083-Order of play, four-ball match play

Linda, in four-ball match play: If I am away, my opponent lies in front of me, and my partner lies in front of our opponent, may I request my partner to hit before I do?
How about on the green?
Lulu from Palm Springs, California

Dear Lulu,

When you are playing a match with a partner, order of play is by team, rather than individual. So when it is your turn to hit, it is actually your team’s turn to hit [Rule 30-3b]. You may defer to your partner and let her hit first, even if her ball lies closer to the hole than one or both of your opponents’ balls. This is true everywhere on the golf course, and can be especially advantageous on the green.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.