Monday, June 8, 2015

Ask Linda #1078-Ball hits flagstick off green

Is there any penalty if a ball played on the green strikes the flagstick that was removed from the hole and placed outside the green?
I know that if the ball strikes it, the player has 2 penalty strokes, but I don't know what happens if the flagstick rests outside the green.

Thank you very much for your answer.
Lou from Argentina

Dear Lou,

It makes no difference whether the flagstick has been placed on or off the green. The player will incur two penalty strokes if his putt hits the flagstick [Rule 17-3]. Players should be careful to place the flagstick where there is no likelihood of anyone’s putt running into it.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.