Friday, June 19, 2015

Ask Linda #1087-Non-conforming driver

In our golf club monthly competition, some of our senior members use a non-conforming driver to gain more distance. 
Do you have any advice? Should we allow them to do so?
What should we do regarding posting scores?
Lou from Thailand

Dear Lou,

A player who uses a club that does not conform to the specifications in Rule 4 and Appendix II is disqualified [Penalty Statement following Rule 4-2].

The USGA Handicap System does not permit a player to post a score from a round in which he has used a non-conforming club [The USGA Handicap System, 5-1f (vii)]. I cannot speak for other countries, but I suspect the ruling would be the same.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.