Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Ask Linda #1064-Ball in hazard, stance in GUR

Dear Linda

Today, on a par 5, my playing partner hit his ball and landed on a dry patch INSIDE THE HAZARD. To hit his ball he has to stand IN a GUR which is OUTSIDE the hazard while his ball is IN the water hazard. What is the ruling?

I feel he can take relief without penalty at the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole BUT in the hazard.

Or he takes a penalty of one stroke and drops two club-lengths nearest point of relief outside the hazard not nearer the hole.

Or he takes stroke and distance from where he last hit the ball.

Am I right?

Thank you

Dear Lou,

When your ball lies in a water hazard there is no free relief from interference by an abnormal ground condition [Rule 25-1b, Note 1]. The player must play the ball as it lies or choose one of the relief options for a ball in a water hazard in Rule 26-1.

The only correct statement in your question is that the player may proceed under stroke and distance, which is a legitimate relief option for a ball in a water hazard.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.