Saturday, May 9, 2015

Ask Linda #1057a-Follow-up to #1057

Linda, what if a player inadvertently hits his ball with a practice swing? Is this considered a stroke or can the ball be replaced with no penalty?
Lou from Massachusetts

Dear Lou,

The ball must be replaced with a one-stroke penalty. The player has accidentally moved his ball in play [Rule 18-2a]. A practice swing is not a stroke – there is no intention to hit the ball.

There is one exception: Since the ball is not "in play" until the player has made his first stroke from the teeing ground, there is no penalty if the ball is accidentally moved by a practice swing prior to making the first stroke on any hole.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.