Friday, May 15, 2015

Ask Linda #1062-Player re-tees when he shouldn’t

Hi Linda,
A player makes a stroke at his teed ball and his clubhead just touches it knocking it off the tee. The player picks up the ball and re-tees it and plays it down the fairway, how many does he lie?
Lou from Spain 

Dear Lou,

He lies three.

When he swings at the ball and knocks it off the tee, the ball is in play. When he lifts the ball in play and replaces it on the tee, he is playing under stroke and distance.

Count one for the first stroke, one penalty stroke under stroke and distance, and the second tee shot. His next shot from the fairway will be his fourth stroke on the hole.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.