Monday, May 18, 2015

Ask Linda #1063-Ball hits movable obstruction

Hi Linda,
Yesterday I was playing the 18th hole where was hitting my 2nd shot to the par 4 from the middle of the fairway. I had around 85 yards left to the green. I play links golf, so chose to bump and run this... My ball was heading for the green when it hit a small 6"x6" "trollies this way" sign. It could be moved as it’s not part of the course, but as I was 85 yards away I didn’t expect to hit it. Do you get to take the shot again? Thanks
Lou from South Shields, England

Dear Lou,

Sorry, Lou. There are no “do overs” when your ball hits a movable obstruction. This is just bad luck. You must play the ball as it lies.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.