Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Ask Linda #1760-Accidentally touch ball

Getting ready to putt, I accidentally touched my ball, on the putting green. It was not part of my putting stroke and the ball did not move. Is there a penalty?  

During a previous tournament, a similar situation occurred on the fairway and the rules official said no penalty as the ball did not move.

Thank you.
Lulu from Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Dear Lulu,

There is no penalty for accidentally touching your ball, provided the ball has not moved.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.