Monday, June 4, 2018

Ask Linda #1750-Drop on fairway in taking relief from immovable obstruction

If you were in the rough, and you had an obstruction that you got free relief from, and that free relief would put you in the fairway, is that permissible? Thank you again Linda for all your answers to my questions.
Lulu from Green Valley, Arizona

Dear Lulu,


The player must drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief [Rule 24-2b]. If that point gets her out of the rough and onto the fairway, she is a lucky lady! Please read Decision 24-2b/8.

Note that if the ball lies in a bunker, any free drop must be in the bunker.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.