Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Ask Linda #1756-Ball strikes golf cart

If I hit someone’s golf cart with my ball who incurs the penalty?
Lulu from Massapequa, New York

Dear Lulu,

In stroke play, this is a rub of the green. There is no penalty to anyone, and you must play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-4].

In match play, there is no penalty, and you have two choices: play the ball as it lies, or cancel the stroke and repeat the shot [Rule 19-3].

If the buggy belongs to you or your partner, you incur a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies [Rule 19-2]. This applies to both match play and stroke play.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.