Monday, June 11, 2018

Ask Linda #1755-Play two matches simultaneously

Hi Linda,
The ladies association in our area has always had us playing pennants over the shortest time period possible, so instead of scheduling additional days they sometimes schedule us to play two matches at once.  This makes a nonsense of match play as you effectively have to play the game like stroke play, but hole by hole.  You may be giving shots to one opponent and getting a shot from the other – very difficult to say the least. 

In my view if the rules of golf state you cannot play match play and stroke play competitions at the same time you should also not be able to play two matches at the same time.  It may be one event but it is effectively 2 competitions.

What is your view on this?

Kind regards,
Lulu from New Zealand

Dear Lulu,

While it may be mind boggling, there is no Rule against playing two matches simultaneously. Ideally, a single match is the best situation for the players. If the Committee wants everyone to double up, you need to toughen up and deal with the confusion. You might want to keep a notepad handy.

For those of you who may be involved in four-ball matches played concurrently with singles matches (A vs. C, B vs. D, A and B vs. C and D), check out Decision 30-3/1 for examples of how to apply the Rules.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.