Monday, November 27, 2017

Ask Linda #1651-Relief in water hazard for unplayable ball

Can a player ever take the option of dropping IN a water hazard? In other words, choosing to take relief from an UNPLAYABLE LIE in a water hazard, as opposed to taking relief from the water hazard itself? I am thinking of the situation where the hazard is largely dry and there might be a good patch of grass either within two club-lengths or back along the line to the pin.
Lou from Australia 

Dear Lou,


A player is not permitted to deem his ball unplayable in a water hazard [Rule 28]. If the ball in the hazard is unplayable, the player must choose one of the relief options in Rule 26, none of which involve dropping the ball within the hazard.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.