Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Ask Linda #1645-Ball skips across lateral hazard
On crossing a red-staked water hazard, the ball skipped along the water, landed on the other side beyond the stakes, and rolled back into the water.
Does the player take a 2-club drop from the side it rolled back into the water, or does she have to go back to the other side where it first crossed the hazard?
Lulu from Sydney, Australia
The two-club-length relief option for a ball in a lateral water hazard is taken from the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard [Rule 26-1c]. If the ball first crosses the hazard at Point A, skips across the hazard, passes the margin on the other side at Point B, and rolls back across the margin into the hazard on the far side at Point C, the reference for taking relief is Point C. The player may drop within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than Point C, or she may find the point on the near side of the hazard that is the same distance from the hole as Point C and drop within two club-lengths of that point.
Similarly, in the case of a regular water hazard (yellow stakes), if the player’s ball first crosses the hazard at Point A, exits the hazard on the far side at Point B, and rolls back into the hazard at Point C, flagline relief [Rule 26-1b] will be measured through Point C, the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard. This drop will take place behind the hazard (on the tee side, not the green side).
Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.