Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Ask Linda #1537-Player moves tee markers

Hi Linda,
Really appreciate your Feedbacks,
We have in our club a President who likes to interfere a lot of the time. My question is this:
The first tee time in our tournament was 8:00 a.m. and his tee time was 9:30 a.m. On reaching Hole #5 he moved the men's tee markers further forward (because you must hit over water), so now the rest of the field has not played from the same tees.
What would be the ruling?

Thanks and Regards,
Lou from Italy

Dear Lou,

If a player moves the tee markers because they are too far back, he is disqualified under Rule 33-7 [Decision 11-2/2b].

However, you have a much more serious issue to consider. By moving the tee markers forward, the player has given an undue advantage to both himself and all the players following him. The entire round should probably be canceled [Decision 33-2b/1].

Perhaps the members might want to recruit a more knowledgeable and respectful candidate to run against this president in the next election.

Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.