Monday, May 15, 2017
Ask Linda #1530-Practice on course before match
In our club four-ball (better ball) match play this week it was established that one of the golfers had played in the morning competition on the same course.
They lost the afternoon match, so the result was not the issue. What we would like to know is if he had the right to do so.
We also understand that this is not permissible in a stroke play competition.
Lou from Australia
Assuming the Committee has not published any Conditions to the contrary, players in a match play competition are permitted to practice on the competition course prior to their round [Rule 7-1a].
As you inferred, players in a stroke play competition are not permitted to practice on the competition course or test the surface of any green prior to a round. And if the competition takes place over consecutive days, they are not permitted to practice on the competition course between rounds. The penalty is disqualification [Rule 7-1b].
Copyright © 2017 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.