Monday, February 3, 2014

Ask Linda #787-Practice during round

Hi Linda,

I was playing behind three ladies yesterday. The round was going slowly, long waits between holes.

One of the ladies, whilst waiting to tee off, dropped a ball and proceeded to hit it several times away from the tee and back. Is this allowed?

Thank you,
Lulu from S. Wales

Dear Lulu,

Yes. Players are permitted to practice putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole last played and the teeing ground of the next hole to be played [Rule 7-2]. Such practice is not permitted if it will unduly delay play, but this is clearly not the case in your scenario.

Please take heed that permission is granted for putting or chipping only. If there is an empty field adjacent to the teeing ground, players may not hit long shots into the field. 

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.