Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Ask Linda #796a-Follow-up question and comment to #796

from Lou in New Jersey:
But, can Annie clean her ball?

Answer: No. When you are asked to lift a ball because it interferes with play you are not permitted to clean it [Rule 22-2].

from Lulu in Texas:
Annie can only lift her ball if the other player request it be lifted. She may not decide on her own that it interferes.

Answer: Your understanding is correct. A player who lifts a ball that interferes with play without being asked to do so incurs a one-stroke penalty [Rule 22-2, Note 1].

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.