Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Ask Linda #792-Flagstick attended, ball not on green


I have seen twice this year on the PGA Tour where a caddie attended a flagstick when the player’s ball was not on the putting surface. Is this allowed, and if so what rule was changed? I have always been instructed that if your ball is not on the putting green you can either pull the flagstick or leave it in BUT you cannot have it attended.

Lou from Cleveland, Ohio

Dear Lou,

A player may have the flagstick attended at any time, regardless of where his ball lies. This has been the Rule for as long as I can remember [Rule 17-1]. Don’t forget that the player incurs a two-stroke penalty if his ball hits the attended flagstick or the person holding it [Rule 17-3].

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.