Thursday, February 27, 2014

Ask Linda #801-Mark ball without request


Recently a fellow golfer marked her ball in the fairway with the assumption another golfer would putt onto the green rather than chip and her ball would be in the way. No one asked her to mark. I thought that she could only mark if another player asked her to. What is the procedure and is there a penalty involved?


Dear Lulu,

Unless a player’s ball is on the putting green, she is not permitted to lift it unless she is asked to do so [Rule 22-2]. This will occur only when another player determines that the player’s ball will interfere with her play.

The penalty is one stroke under Rule 18-2a, and the player must replace her ball.

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.