Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Ask Linda #788-Relief from sprinkler head
Do you get relief from an immovable obstruction (such as a sprinkler head) if you want to putt from off the green?
Lulu from New Jersey
There is no free relief unless the Committee has adopted Local Rule #6 in Appendix I, Part B. If the Local Rule is in effect, players are permitted free relief from an immovable obstruction (such as a sprinkler head) that is located within two club-lengths of the green. Their ball must lie within two club-lengths of the obstruction and the obstruction must be on the line of play from the ball to the hole. In taking relief, the ball must be dropped at the nearest point that is not nearer the hole, avoids the obstruction, and is not in a hazard or on the putting green.
Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.