Thursday, February 20, 2014

Ask Linda #797-Move broken branch attached to tree


If a ball comes to rest close to a broken branch but the branch is still attached to the tree and it interferes with your swing what is the ruling?

Dear Lou,

If the branch is still attached to the tree, it is clearly not a loose impediment. You may not move it. If you cannot hit your ball, you may declare it unplayable and proceed under one of the relief options in Rule 28.

If you move the branch, you will be improving the area of your intended swing [Rule 13-2], a two-stroke penalty (loss of hole in match play).

Copyright © 2014 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.