Thursday, September 15, 2016

Ask Linda #1380-Hit wrong ball twice

Hi Linda,
My buddy hit the wrong ball twice before he realized it was the wrong ball. I know the penalty is 2 strokes for hitting the wrong ball, but what about the second time? Is it a 4-stroke penalty?
Lou from Atlanta, Georgia

Dear Lou,

No. In stroke play, the penalty for hitting a wrong ball is two strokes, no matter how many times you hit it. As soon as you realize your mistake, you must abandon the wrong ball and play the correct ball. If you don’t correct your mistake before you tee off on the next hole, you are disqualified [Rule 15-3b]. Your score for the hole will be the total number of strokes you played with the correct ball plus the two-stroke penalty for hitting a wrong ball. If you are unable to find your original ball, you will have to play another ball under penalty of stroke and distance [Rule 27-1c].

In match play, you would simply lose the hole.

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.