Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Ask Linda #1284-Relief for ball on sprinkler head


The ball ends up on a sprinkler head in the first cut green side. Is there any circumstance you can think of which will allow you to drop on the green?
Lou from Chicago

Dear Lou,

If you're looking for free relief, the answer is "no," but check out my last paragraph. When a ball lies on an immovable obstruction through the green, the nearest point of relief may not be on a putting green [Rule 24-2b (i)].

The player is entitled to free relief. He must drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole, not in a hazard or on a putting green.

There is one circumstance under which you could drop on the green, but it would not involve free relief. If you decided to declare your ball unplayable, and the two-club-length relief option (no closer to the hole) was on the green, you could drop on the green and add one penalty stroke to your score.

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.