Friday, April 8, 2016

Ask Linda #1282-Holing out while another ball in hole

Hi again Linda,
I’ve been asked the question but cannot find anything in the rules book or the decisions of golf book and it is “are there any penalties for putting and holing out whilst there is another ball in the cup already?”
My own view is no issues as long as the 2nd ball is holed out as laid down in the rules.

Look forward to your thoughts
Lou from Earby, England

Dear Lou,

A ball is “holed” when it is at rest in the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip [Definition of “Holed]. There is no penalty for holing out while another ball is still in the hole. In fact, you might get some “brownie points” for helping to speed up the pace of play. I do it from time to time.

If you have reservations about putting while another ball is in the hole, you are within your rights to request that the owner remove it (or you may remove it for him).

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.