Monday, April 11, 2016

Ask Linda #1283-Deflect moving putt into hole

Suppose a player putts the ball and misses the putt and while the ball is still moving putts the ball and hits it into the hole. What is the penalty if there is a penalty?
Lou from Oak Hills, California

Dear Lou,

Did you honestly think there would be no penalty for deliberately deflecting your own moving putt? This is a serious violation, Lou. At the very least, the player incurs a two-stroke penalty (loss of hole in match play). If the Committee decides that the player’s action gave him a significant advantage, it may impose a penalty of disqualification [Rule 1-2].

Copyright © 2016 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.