Monday, March 30, 2015

Ask Linda #1028-Advice about the wind

Hi Linda,
Is information about the wind (it's a helping wind, it's blowing left to right, etc.) the type of advice that cannot be given or asked? It does affect club selection, but I don't see it specifically mentioned in the rules.
Thanks for your help!
Best regards,
Lulu from New York and Florida

Dear Lulu,

“Advice” is defined as “any counsel or suggestion that could influence a player in determining his play, the choice of a club or the method of making a stroke.”

Telling another player that “it’s a helping wind,” or “it’s blowing left to right,” or asking another player which direction the wind is blowing, is clearly advice. The penalty is two strokes (loss of hole in match play).

Be aware that the penalty is assessed to the player who asks for advice, or the player who gives advice, or both players if one asks and the other answers. The correct answer to “Which way is the wind blowing?” is: “You have incurred a two-stroke penalty for asking for advice. If I answer, I will incur the same penalty.”

If you enjoy chatting with your fellow competitors, it’s best to talk about the children, the local sports team, or the latest episode of Game of Thrones.  

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.