Monday, March 9, 2015

Ask Linda #1013-Ball crosses hazard margin twice

From the tee position, if a ball travels over water and then land but cuts back into the hazard, does a player play his third shot from where the ball first crossed the hazard line or where it last crossed the hazard line? (The hazard was a lateral hazard.)
Lou from Chicago

Dear Lou,

Regardless of whether the hazard is lateral (red-staked) or regular (yellow-staked), the reference point for taking relief is always where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard [Rule 26-1b, c].

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.