Thursday, March 12, 2015

Ask Linda #1016-Lift opponent’s marker

Linda, in match play, A & B are on a team and C & D are on a team. When on the green, player A putts her ball in the hole and inadvertently picks player C's mark up off the green. She immediately realizes what she'd done and replaced the ball marker.
Is there a penalty?
Lulu from Texas

Dear Lulu,

Picking up your opponent’s marker is equivalent to moving your opponent’s ball. Player A incurs a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2b. The marker must be replaced, and Player C will putt.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.