Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Ask Linda #1009-Relief from hazard alongside green

Hi Linda,
My apologies in advance for this long question.
A par 3 hole has a yellow-staked water hazard on the left side of green. There is an area of fairway (A) between hazard and the green. The fairway also flanks the left side of hazard.
1. Tee shot directly lands in the water hazard.
2. Tee shot lands short of green and rolls straight in the hazard.
3. Tee shot lands short of green, rolls over to fairway (A) and continues to roll into the hazard.
4. Tee shot lands on the fairway (A) and hops into the hazard.
5. Tee shot lands on the green, spins left and drops in the hazard.
6. Suppose the green, Fairway (A), hazard and tee are in a straight line and the tee shot lands on fairway (A) and spins back in the hazard.
Where the ball should be dropped in all the above 6 scenarios?
Is it mandatory to keep the hazard in between the spot where you drop and the green, or can the ball also be dropped on the fairway (A) for scenario 3, 4, 5 and 6.
Thanks and regards,
Lou from Lahore, Pakistan

Dear Lou,

Lots of questions, one answer: When your ball lies in a yellow-staked water hazard, and you decide to take relief, you must drop the ball behind the hazard. No matter which relief option you choose (see Rule 26-1), you will have to cross the water hazard on your next shot.

In general the Rules of Golf apply to the state of the ball when it is at rest, and not the way it got to that spot. So if your ball hits an object lying out of bounds and ricochets back onto the course, your ball is in play (and vice versa). And if your ball touches ground on the green side of a hazard and then rolls back into the hazard, your ball is in the hazard.

Always ask yourself: Where is the ball? If it is lying in a puddle, you will find your relief options in Rule 25; if it is sitting on a chair, look at Rule 24; and if it is in a water hazard, turn to Rule 26.

Copyright © 2015 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.