Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Ask Linda #1683-Stand on player’s line of putt

Linda, we are having discussion about rule 14-2. 
It states there is a penalty to the player for partners and caddies who stand on an extension of the line of putt behind the ball while the ball is played!
There does not seem to be a mention of another player doing it being penalised.
Is this the case? 
Lou from Manchester, UK

Dear Lou,

While the prohibition against positioning your partner or either of your caddies on an extension of your line of putt behind the ball is a Rule [14-2b], the reminder that other players should not stand directly behind the ball or the hole is an etiquette issue. You can find this in Section I (Etiquette), Consideration for Other Players, No Disturbance or Distraction, in the last paragraph. You have the right to tell a player standing on the extension of your line of putt behind the ball to move away. A player refusing to honor such a simple and reasonable request may be judged guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, which carries a possible disqualification penalty.

Copyright © 2018 Linda Miller. All rights reserved.